MAPLEWELL HALL SCHOOL

GOVERNING BODY

Chair of Governors Mr Roger Ivens
Headteacher Mr Jason Brooks
Parent Governors Mrs Emma Green

Dr. Anette Freyer

Co-Opted Governors Mr Roger Ivens

Mr Peter Russell

Mrs Sue Patterson

Mrs Georgina Smith

Local Authority Governor Mr John Allen
Staff Governor Mrs Nicky Roulston
Associate Governors Mr Liam Barlow (Student)

Miss Maria Choudhury (Student) 


 

Governing Body Meeting Dates – 2017-18

Committee Autumn Term Spring Term Summer Term
Full Governors – 5pm Thursday 21 September 2017

Thursday 7 December 2017

Thursday 15 March 2018 Thursday 28 June 2018
Personnel – 4:30pm Thursday 5 October 2017

Thursday 23 November 2017

Thursday 22 Feb 2018 Thursday 24 May 2018
Finance – 5:30pm Thursday 5 October 2017

Thursday 23 November 2017

Thursday 22 Feb 2018 Thursday 24 May 2018
Personal Development, Behaviour and Welfare (H&S) – 4:30pm Thursday 9 November 2017 Thursday 11 January 2018 Thursday 10 May 2018
Teaching, Learning & Assessment – 4:30pm Thursday 12 October 2017 Thurs. 25 January 2018 Thursday 14 June 2018
Residential – 4:30pm Thursday 26 October 2017 Thurs. 8 February 2018 Thursday 19 April 2018

Governor Visits

2017/18 Visits

TBC

Guidance for Prospective Governors

The following guidance has been written to assist governing bodies with their duty to conduct informed parent and staff elections in which the expectations and credentials of prospective candidates are made clear.

Governing Body Role

Guidance for Prospective Governors

Being a school governor is both a rewarding and challenging experience. Governors provide strategic leadership and work in partnership with the headteacher and senior leaders in schools to ensure that every child gets the best possible education.

The demands on governors and governing bodies have changed dramatically in recent years and this guidance has been written to help aspiring governors understand the expectations and demands of the role of the Governing Body.

How the Governing Body Works

  • How the governing body is structured – Chair of Governors, 4 x Co-Opted Governors, 1 x LA Governor – non-affiliated, 2 x Parent Governors, 1 x Staff Governor, Headteacher and Clerk
  • Frequency of meetings – A Full Governors, Finance and Personnel Committees meet 4 times each academic year and are approximately 2 hours long. The three remaining committees – Personal Development, Behaviour and Welfare (Health and Safety); Residence; and Teaching, Learning & Assessment (Curriculum) – hold a meeting every term and these will range from 1-2 hours in length depending on the agenda.